Who we are

The Executive Steering Committee for 2017 is as follows:


Tim Armstrong (Royal Holloway)

Iain Bailey (University of Manchester): Treasurer

Rebecca Beasley (University of Oxford): Past Chair

Rebecca Beasley is Associate Professor of English at the University of Oxford. She joined BAMS in 2008 as one of the original working party, and was subsequently elected Secretary of its first Executive Committee (2010-13), and Chair of its second (2013-14). Between 2000 and 2016 she was a member of the organising committee of the Modernism Seminar at the Institute of English Studies, University of London. She is the author of  Ezra Pound and the Visual Culture of Modernism (Cambridge University Press, 2007), and Theorists of Modernist Poetry: Ezra Pound, T.S. Eliot and T.E. Hulme (Routledge Critical Thinkers, 2007), and editor, with Philip Ross Bullock, of Russia in Britain, 1880-1940: From Melodrama to Modernism (Oxford University Press, 2013). Her new monograph, Russomania: Russian Culture and the Creation of British Modernism, 1881-1922, is forthcoming from Oxford University Press in 2017. She is general editor, with Tim Armstrong (Royal Holloway), of the Edinburgh University Press series, Edinburgh Critical Studies in Modernist Culture.

Katharine Cockin (University of Hull): External Relations Secretary

Daniel Moore (University of Birmingham)

Alex Goody (Oxford Brookes University)

Suzanne Hobson (Queen Mary, University of London): Chair and Membership Secretary

Suzanne Hobson is Senior Lecturer in Twentieth-Century Literature at Queen Mary University of London. Her research focuses on the literary cultures of modernism and she has a particular interest in questions of religion and secularism in the early twentieth century. She is the author of Angels of Modernism (Palgrave Macmillan, 2011) and co-editor with Rachel Potter of The Salt Companion to Mina Loy (Salt, 2010). She is currently working on a project about unbelief in interwar modernist fiction. Suzanne joined the BAMS committee in 2014 and served her first three-year term as Membership Secretary and Vice-Chair. She was on the organising committee for Modernism Now! The British Association for Modernist Studies International Conference 2014 (Senate House, London) and organised the New Work in Modernist Studies Postgraduate Conference 2016 (Queen Mary University of London).

Lise Jaillant (Loughborough University)

Lise Jaillant is Lecturer at Loughborough University. She is the author of two monographs: Modernism, Middlebrow and the Literary Canon: The Modern Library Series, 1917-1955 (Routledge, 2014) and Cheap Modernism: Expanding Markets, Publishers’ Series and the Avant-Garde (Edinburgh UP, 2017). She has been awarded a British Academy Rising Star Engagement Award for her project “After the Digital Revolution: Bringing together archivists and scholars to preserve born-digital records and produce new knowledge.” The project will run for one year, from 31 March 2017. More information can be found on her website: www.lisejaillant.com

Chris Mourant (University of Birmingham)

Sophie Oliver (Royal Holloway)

Sam Rose (St Andrews University)

Andrew Thacker (Nottingham Trent University)

Alex Thomson (University of Edinburgh)

Jeff Wallace (Cardiff Metropolitan University): Past Chair

Jeff Wallace is Professor of English at Cardiff Metropolitan University. He joined BAMS in 2013, and the BAMS Executive Steering Committee in 2014. He is the author of Beginning Modernism (2011), D.H. Lawrence, Science and the Posthuman (2005), and the co-editor, with Andrew Smith, of Gothic Modernisms (2001). His most recent published work includes an essay, ‘Modern’, in the Cambridge Companion to Literature and the Posthuman (eds Bruce Clarke and Manuela Rossini, 2016), and an article, ‘Murphy and Peace’, in Twentieth-Century Literature (61:3, 2015). He is currently working on a study of abstraction as a critical concept in the literary and visual arts.


Claire Warden (De Montfort University)

Adam Watt (University of Exeter)

Adam Watt is Associate Professor (Reader) in French at the University of Exeter where he is also Director of Research for Modern Languages. His books include Reading in Proust’s A la recherche: le délire de la lecture (Oxford University Press, 2009);The Cambridge Introduction to Marcel Proust (Cambridge University Press, 2011; Persian edition forthcoming 2017); an illustrated biography, Marcel Proust (Reaktion Books, 2013; Chinese edition, Lijian Publishing, 2015); and, as editor, Marcel Proust in Context (Cambridge University Press, 2013; paperback 2016). He is seeking to develop a network for those working on modernist topics in the South West.

Postgraduate Representatives:

Stephanie Boland (University of Exeter) (2016-18)

Stephanie Boland is a graduate student at the University of Exeter writing on modernism and non-fictional forms. Her work has appeared in the James Joyce Quarterly, Literature & History, and The Cambridge Quarterly. As a journalist, she has written for the Guardian, the Times Literary Supplement, the LA Review of Books and Asymptote, a specialist journal of translation. She is regular contributor to the New Statesman.

Ruth Clemens (Leeds Trinity) (2017-19)

Ruth Clemens is a PhD student in Comparative Literature at Leeds Trinity University, researching the transnationalism and multilingualism of modernist book parts. She was the recipient of the 2015 Association for Low Countries Studies essay prize and in 2017 she will begin a visiting research fellowship at Utrecht University as part of her PhD. Ruth has presented conference papers on T.S. Eliot, Virginia Woolf, and Flann O’Brien, and her work has appeared in BSJ: The B. S. Johnson Journal and the British Library’s European Studies blog.


Helen Saunders (King’s College London) (2016-18)

Helen Saunders is PhD student at King’s College London, researching the representation of fashion in the work of James Joyce. Helen is an administrator at the faculty’s Centre for Modern Literature & Culture and has published in Irish Studies Review, James Joyce Broadsheet, Journal of Victorian Culture and Film, Fashion & Consumption.

BAMS Advisory Board:

Ian Bell, Department of American Studies, Keele University

Jonathan Bignell, Department of Film, Theatre & Television, University of Reading

Ramsey Burt, Faculty of Art, Design and Humanities, De Montfort University

Sascha Bru, Department of Literary Studies & MDRN, University of Leuven

Laura Doan, School of Arts, Languages and Cultures, University of Manchester

Vivien Gardner, Martin Harris Centre for Music and Drama, University of Manchester

Graeme Gilloch, Department of Sociology, Lancaster University

Susan Harrow, School of Modern Languages, University of Bristol

Ben Highmore, School of Media, Film, and Music, University of Sussex

Peter Osborne, Centre for Research in Modern European Philosophy, Kingston University London

Barbara Penner, Bartlett School of Architecture, University College London

David Peters Corbett, Centre for American Art, Courtauld Institute of Art