Call for MSA Book Prize Nominations

The Modernist Studies Association seeks nominations for this year’s MSA Book Prize, to be awarded to a monograph book with a printed copyright date of 2015. The prize is given each year to a work that makes a significant contribution to modernist studies. The recipient will receive $1000 plus up to $600 toward travel expenses to the 2016 MSA conference, where the award will be presented.


To nominate a book for the MSA Book Prize, please send an email to David Ayers ( as soon as possible and then contact your publisher to ask that a copy of your book be sent to each of the three committee members, at the following addresses:

  • 1. David Ayers: School of English, University of Kent at Canterbury, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NX UK
  • 2. Suzanne Hobson: Department of English, Queen Mary University of London, Mile End Road, London, E1 4NS UK
  • 3. Alan Golding: Department of English, University of Louisville, Louisville, KY 40292 USA

Please let your publisher know that books must be received by committee members no later than 15 March. Books arriving after that date may be considered for the prize but are not guaranteed consideration.

Self-nomination is strongly encouraged, as it saves a step in the process and helps assure timely receipt of books. Whether a book is nominated by the author or by someone else plays no role in the Committee’s deliberations.

Please note also that books published in years other than the ones mentioned above (2015 for the MSA Book Prize) are ineligible. This exclusion applies even if a revised edition or paperback was published in 2014 or 2015.

Submissions will not be returned.