Essay Prize Past Events Uncategorized

BAMS Essay Prize Announcement

The winner of the 2015 BAMS Essay Prize is Cedric Van Dijck (Ghent University), for his essay: “Time on the Pulse: Affective Encounters with the Wristwatch in the Literature of Modernism and the First World War”.
Runner-up: Alyson Brickey (University of Toronto), “Mrs Dalloway’s Colours.”
In addition, the following essays were shortlisted:
Brett Colasacco (University of Chicago), “’Second-Class Reality’: Robinson Jeffers and the Postwar Politicization of Aesthetics”
Sanna Melin Schyllert (University of Westminster), “’Goldie was one of us,/we are one with Goldie’: Sacrifice, Community and Transcendence in H.D.’s Within the Walls and What Do I Love?’”
The entries were of a  very high calibre, and the judges congratulate Cedric Van Dijck, and thank all the entrants for their submissions.