Aesthetics of Global Modernism conference programme (Mon 12 July)

The Aesthetics of Global Modernism

12th July 2021

A one-day online event by the Modernist Studies in Asia network (MSIA) and the British Association of Modernist Studies (BAMS).

Organisers:

Udith Dematagoda, Assistant Professor, Waseda University, Tokyo (BAMS)

Nan Zhang, Associate Professor, Fudan University, Shanghai (MSIA)

Kevin Riordan, Assistant Professor, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (MSIA)

Opening Remarks – 18:20 Tokyo / 10:20 London / 5:20 New York

FIRST PARALLEL SESSION

Panel 1 – 18:40 Tokyo / 10:40 London / 5:40 New York (Chair: Udith Dematagoda)

Mohit Abrol (PhD Candidate, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi) —

 “Eliot’s Anti-Fascist Agenda, Anglo-Catholicism, and the Bergsonian Impulse” 

Asa Chen Zhang (PhD Candidate, University of Michigan) —

“Possession and (In)Visibility: Articulating Michio Itō’s Performing Body in W. B. Yeats’s At the Hawk’s Well and Beyond” 

Geraldine Suter (Lecturer, Bridgewater College) —

 “Marxist Aesthetics in Alfred Döblin’s Dramas” 

Panel 2 – 18:40 Tokyo / 10:40 London / 5:40 New York (Chair: Adam Guy)

Simona Amăriuței (PhD candidate, University of Manchester) —

“Andrei Bely and Cubism” 

Gaultier Roux (Lecturer, Fudan University) —

“Baudelaire Misinterpreted: Thwarted Modernity: A Theoretical Rereading” 

 Yuxin Zhang (PhD Candidate, University of Sydney) —

“Beyond Ideographic Poetics: Sound, Writing, and the Chinese Texts in Ezra Pounds Later Cantos”

SECOND PARALLEL SESSION

Panel 3 – 20:20 Tokyo / 12:20 London / 7:20 New York (Chair: Kevin Riordan)

Desmond Harding (Professor, Central Michigan University) —

 “Yokomitsu Riichi’s Urban Aesthetics” 

Andrew Houwen (Associate Professor, Tokyo Woman’s Christian University) —

 “‘Tokio Takes Over, Where Paris Stopped’: Kitasono Katué’s VOU and Global Modernism”  

Sophia Sherry (PhD Candidate, University of Chicago) —

“Self, Genre, Ukigumo: Hayashi Fumiko’s Japanese Modernism in Global Space and Time” 

Panel 4 – 20:20 Tokyo / 12:20 London / 7:20 New York (Chair:Nan Zhang)

Gavin Herbertson (PhD Candidate, Oxford University) —

“Derek Walcott, T. S. Eliot, and the Role of Allusion in Epitaph for the Young

Usha Kishore (PhD Candidate, Edinburgh Napier University) —

“Alter-nation of Modernism: The Metropolitan Sensibility of Kamala Das”

Serena Wong (PhD Candidate, University of Glasgow) —

“Ornamental Modernism: The Decorative Aesthetics of Virginia Woolf and Ling Shuhua” 

FINAL SESSION

Panel 5 – 22:00 Tokyo / 14:00 London / 9:00 New York (Chair: Udith Dematagoda)

Maurizia Boscagli (Professor, UC Santa Barbara) — 

“Alter Modernism: Eileen Gray’s Queer Orientalism” 

Arka Chattopadhyay (Assistant Professor, IIT Gandhinagar) —

“Bengali Modernisms: Political Aesthetics of Avant-Garde World Form” 

Adam Guy (Lecturer, Oxford University), —

“C. L. R. James as Theorist of Modernism: Existentialist Doctrines” 

Closing Remarks – 23:20 Tokyo / 15:20 London / 10:20 New York