Katherine Mansfield Society Annual Essay Prize Competition 2016

The Katherine Mansfield Society is pleased to announce its annual essay prize competition for 2016, open to all, on the subject of:


The winner will receive a cash prize of £200 and the winning essay will be considered for publication in Katherine Mansfield Studies (the peer-reviewed yearbook of the Katherine Mansfield Society, published by Edinburgh University Press).

The distinguished panel of judges will comprise:

Professor Galya Diment

University of Washington, Seattle, US, Chair of the Judging Panel

Dr Rebecca Beasley

University of Oxford, UK

Dr Joanna Wood

Author of Katerina: The Russian Katherine Mansfield, NZ

Professor Claire Davison

Sorbonne Nouvelle, France

Essays that address all aspects of Katherine Mansfield and Russia, whether literary, cultural, historical, or biographical, are welcomed. Topics might include, but are not limited to:

  • KM and Chekhov
  • KM and Tolstoy
  • KM and Dostoevsky
  • KM and Russian Literature
  • KM and Marie Bashkirtseff
  • The Hogarth Press and Russia
  • Translating with Koteliansky
  • KM and Constance Garnett
  • KM and the Russian Revolution of 1917
  • KM, Gurdjieff and his Institute
  • KM and Russian Ballet and/or Theatre


Submissions of between 5000–6000 words (inclusive of endnotes), in Word format and using MHRA style formatting, should be emailed to the Guest Editor for this volume, Professor Galya Diment, accompanied by a 50 word biography: kms@katherinemansfieldsociety.org


A detailed MHRA style guide is available from the Katherine Mansfield Society website:




1 Prize essay flier 2016